The Board

Iain Blakeley
P: (+64) 27 489 9008

MInstD, BA, LLB, Barrister & Solicitor High Courts of New Zealand and Fiji

Iain is a long serving member of the Royal New Pipe Bands’ Association and is currently President.  Iain is a piper, and has played and held leadership roles in NZ Champion grade 1 bands, both in NZ and overseas. He is a current national pipe band and solo piping adjudicator, NZ solo piping Gold Medalist and successful solo piping competitor. Iains profile can be found by clicking on his website below.

Allister Macgregor
Board Member
P: (+64) 27 558 4471

Executive MBA Henley College (UK)

Allister is the immediate Past President (5 years) of the Royal New Zealand Pipe Bands’ Association and a current Board member.

He is also a Board member and Trustee of the New Zealand Piping Centre (, new President of the RNZPBA Otago Centre, and past Chairman and current Board member and Trustee of the Southland Piping and Drumming Development Trust.

Allister has a technology background and strong interest in all things Celtic music and has a particular passion for youth recruitment, development and retention, to our art form.

Stuart McHale
Board Member
P: (+64) 21 0233 0045

Stuart joined the Board January 2021. He is currently the Bass Drummer, Drum Major and Band Manager for the Manawatu Scottish #1 Pipe Band. Stuart has a particular interest in communication, youth and technology, and is honing in on facilitating change, in the image and branding of the RNZPBA and it’s programmes. Born and bred in Rotorua, and subsequently Hamilton where he studied, he has an affinity for pipe banding at a grass roots level.